Skip navigation

startupsI just read a good article by Leo Babauta titled “How to: Simplify.”  He lists some great elements that are relating to business and yet they are universal principles that pertain to all of life.  Here they are:

  1. Focus on Less – it’s common to try to bite off more than we can chew.  As far as my desire to de-clutter and simplify, I must realize that it is a process and will take time, planning and focus.  I could “dive right in” but that would be a recipe for disaster.
  2. Do Less – Babauta says that you should do what you do best and stick with that.  Problems arise when we spread ourselves so thin that we become a jack of all trades and master of none.
  3. Stay Lean – applying this to my goal of simplifying means that I should not seek any new purchases or the acquisition of more stuff.  To de-clutter I must refuse the temptation to add more clutter.
  4. Have Less Clutter – it may sound redundant but it’s true.  I must set myself to de-clutter all of my current environments i.e. car interior, home office, work office, closet, back pack… you get the idea.

Give his article a read and let me know what you think:  http://mashable.com/2008/12/30/how-to-simplify/.

On the Journey,

Jimmy

Leave a Reply

