Skip navigation

celticimageI am convinced that left alone we will always drift toward complexity. It is the path of least resistance, especially concerning matters of faith. Over the years I fell into the trap of thinking that I needed to have an esoteric revelation. The definition of esoteric is intended for or likely to be understood by only a small number of people with a specialized knowledge or interest. I have been a Christ Follower for 29 years this May and I am finding the closer I get to Jesus, i.e. maturity, the less I really know. That faith at it’s core and in it’s purest form is simple and childlike.

The apostle Paul was a brilliant and educated man, a compelling orator, yet as he stood before the Christ Followers in Corinth he made it clear that he did not come with fancy speech or persuasive words. In fact he was determined to know one thing and one thing only, Christ crucified. His message was simple, direct, profound. His message was to be a demonstration of the power and sufficiency of God not the clever persuasion of Paul.

I often find that I am quick to try to help God out. It’s not the worst thing, but I can get in His way due to my desire to see something happen. My desire to tickle the ears and win people over. My desire to be accepted and loved by others. Did you notice there was a lot of “Me” in those last four sentences. And there lies the issue… Me. I will be preaching a message in a few hours and my heart is to simply know nothing except Christ. That my words will not be clever or cute, but simple, direct, profound.

Continuing on the Journey,
Jimmy

Leave a Reply

