Skip navigation

oldmanwinter1Over the holidays I, like most parents with 8 year olds, saw just about every kiddie Christmas movie that’s out there… and there are a lot of them out there! I still get nastalgic when the Rudolf movies come on. You know the movies that have the little dolls that were painstakingly made one frame at a time. They bring back so many memories and I always enjoy watching them year after year.

What does that have to do with simplifying? There is a song in the movie Santa Claus is Coming to Town that Old Man Winter sings that speaks to Simplicity. It’s titled Put One Foot in Front of the Other and was written by Jules Bass. Here are the lyrics:

Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking cross the floor
Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking out the door

You never will get where you’re going
If you never get up on your feet
Come on, there’s a good tail wind blowing
A fast walking man is hard to beat

Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking cross the floor
Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking out the door

If you want to change your direction
If your time of life is at hand
Well don’t be the rule be the exception
A good way to start is to stand

Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking cross the floor
Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking out the door

If I want to change the reflection
I see in the mirror each morn
You mean that it’s just my election
To vote for a chance to be reborn

Here is a key to simplifying, just put one foot in front of the other. Walk don’t run. Take your time. So many life-projects get started with good intentions and lots of enthusiasm only to fail because we try to run before we can even walk. So, put one foot in front of the other today. I’m cleaning out yet another area in my office today. That’s it. Nothing more, nothing less. What will you do today on the road to simplifying?

Grace and Peace

8 Comments

  1. Timely and practical, Jimmy. Good stuff!

    • Thank you Anthony. I do hope you are encouraged and even inspired to start your own journey toward a less cluttered existence. Grace to you.

  2. I have not seen this Christmas special in years yet I still recall the tune and the beginnig of the lyrics. Goes to show, simple things stick easier and longer.

    • So true. Sometimes “Less is More.” Good to hear from you Jerry.

      Jim

  3. Jimmy,

    God has spoken through you to encourage me to simplify my desk at the house.. (really – wherever I’m at I’m home because of Him in me.)

    You were just prayed dangerous prayers for again!

    • Wonderful. Keep your goals small and easy to fulfill in the beginning. I just cleaned my “nook” in my office. Wow, it’s like I can breathe again. This is getting fun!

  4. Not sure if it has to do with getting older, getting wiser, or just coming to the realization that people matter more than things. I belong to a site “flylady.net” and she has a 15 minute at a time approach. She often sends you out on 5 minute missions. It’s amazing how much you can do in a few minutes and how it actually helps. My new motto is “Toss, toss, toss” (recycling is our family project.) Thx for the post!

    • Thanks! I’ll check out that site. I like that 15 min idea. Thanks for commenting today. Grace and peace.

      Jimmy


Leave a Reply

